U.S. unemployment is at 6.7 percent as the country’s economic recession deepens, but there’s at least one company hiring soon. Oscar Meyer is collecting resumes from prospective Wienermobile drivers until the end of January. The hot dog company prefers applicants to have a background in communications, journalism, public relations, advertising or marketing. I certainly meet that qualification. Perhaps I should apply for the gig. Then again, I wouldn’t want to be on the road without my wife for a whole year. Besides, only 12 people will be hired as “hotdoggers,” and Oscar Meyer gets hundreds of applications for those jobs every year. Still, it would be fun to drive the Wienermobile around the country. And I bet the experience of driving a giant hot dog on wheels would create enough interesting stories to fill a book.

