Just when I thought Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin was finally done making headlines, her pregnant daughter Bristol’s boyfriend’s mother got arrested and charged with six felony drug counts. The woman, Sherry Johnston, is the mother of Levi Johnston, who allegedly wants to marry Bristol, though apparently not before their baby is born. (The baby is due this weekend.)

While I admittedly am no fan of Sarah Palin, I think conservative columnist Peggy Noonan was onto something when she claimed the media is trying to “take Sarah Palin and make her, subliminally, the face of the Republican party.” Some liberal commentators, like MSNBC’s Keith Olbermann, have said they want Palin to run for president in 2012 because they believe she would lose easily. She probably would lose, not so much because she is incapable of bettering herself in the eyes of potential voters, but because recent political history shows those on losing presidential tickets tend to disappear from the limelight.

I may be proven wrong about that – perhaps she will resurface on the national level in 2016 – but regardless, can all the talk about Sarah Palin stop already? I realize the irony of me writing about Palin when I want to stop hearing about her, but this is the only time I posted anything here about the Alaska governor. In a comment on another WordPress blog last month, I proposed formation of SPA – Sarah Palin-aholics Anonymous. Now I repeat my call for SPA’s creation. Members are not to discuss Palin unless there is a worthy reason, such as her running for federal election again. Otherwise I don’t want to hear about Wasilla or anything else related to Palin.

I will try my best not to mention Palin again on this blog unless she is involved in something truly newsworthy on a national level. But if I fail, I promise to get back on the wagon with the help of fellow SPA members.

Now, if only Illinois Gov. Rod Blagojevich would resign and go away, I could start a Blagoholics Anonymous club. Unfortunately, it sounds like he is going to be around at least until the Illinois legislature impeachs him.

