I’m glad to see the movie “Slumdog Millionaire” won four Golden Globe awards (best drama, director, screenplay and musical score). The honors are well-deserved.

I first heard about the film at Christmastime when a cousin encouraged my wife and I to see it. She couldn’t give us an in-depth description of the movie without giving too much plot away, so she simply told us to trust her we would really enjoy it. A few days later, a film reviewer on television called “Slumdog Millionaire” the best little-known movie currently playing in theaters. That was enough to convince us to check it out.

I also find it difficult to explain the movie without spoiling it for those who haven’t seen it, so I won’t say anything more about the plot than what you may already know from basic reviews: “Slumdog Millionaire” is about an orphan boy who endures terrible hardships on his way to becoming a contestant on India’s version of “Who Wants to Be a Millionaire” (which, incidentally, is not hosted by Regis Philbin or Meredith Vieira, but a foreign fellow who eerily looks like a 1980s version of former baseball slugger Mike Piazza).

It is an excellent film featuring a well-told story that benefits from a combination of great acting and first-rate cinematography. The screenplay is based on Vikas Swarup’s novel Q & A, which I have not read. But I have seen the movie, and it is well worth the price of admission.

