The category for Final Jeopardy! today was 1950s literature.

The answer: In 2007, this novel celebrated its 50th anniversary as its manuscript, a 120-foot-long scroll, toured the U.S.

The question: What is On the Road?

Yes, Jack Kerouac’s Beat Generation masterpiece was the subject of Final Jeopardy!, and only one of the three contestants knew it.

On the Road is my all-time favorite book. I love Kerouac’s singular writing style. Already a writer, I gained a greater respect for using descriptive words after reading On the Road for the first time a decade ago. Plus, I will argue that this book is the Great American Novel of the 20th century. (Not to be confused with Philip Roth’s The Great American Novel, which I’ve never read.)

Since I started this blog entry with a trivia question, I’ll end it with a trivial note about myself: I used to live two blocks away from U.S. Route 6, which Kerouac rode west in the first part of On the Road.

