Let me preface this post with an “I told you so”: I predicted this would happen three months ago.

The real Rod Blagojevich is scheduled to appear during Saturday night’s performance of “Rod Blagojevich Superstar,” a Second City satire that mocks Blago’s political career. Here’s the skinny, according to Chris Jones of the Chicago Tribune:

According to the show’s producer Kelly Leonard, the indicted and impeached former Illinois governor has been contracted to show up during the show to help announce the extension of the satirical spoof through Aug. 9 (and possibly beyond). Blagojevich will also take part in the improv set that follows the show.

Leonard wouldn’t discuss on the record what financial deal had been made with Blagojevich, but said that a portion of the box-office proceeds on Saturday night will be donated to the charity Gilda’s Club.

“Rod Blagojevich Superstar” is performed upstairs at the Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier.

Leonard also said that the former governor is expected to watch the show—which is harshly critical of his political career. “We’ve been told he’s really curious and has a great sense of humor,” Leonard said.

I’d love to be sitting near Blago as the show is performed, so I could see his reaction to various parts of the play — especially when Lori McClain sings her gloriously profane song as Pottymouth Patti Blagojevich.

For the record, I still think the real Blagojevich should be worked into the play as Joey Bland, the actor who portrays him in “Rod Blagojevich Superstar.” Remember, Blagojevich interviewed Bland on WLS-AM in March; in a reversal of roles, Bland (as Blagojevich) could interview Blagojevich (as Bland). Wouldn’t that be funny?

(I saw “Rod Blagojevich Superstar” in late April. Click here to read my review.)

* * *

“I’m A Celebrity … Get Me Out of Here,” starring Patti Blagojevich and a bunch of has-been celebrities, didn’t air tonight because of the Stanley Cup Finals. However, NBC will make up for that by airing a two-hour episode tomorrow night. As usual, I’ll watch it so you don’t have to. I’ll tweet live updates as the show airs and later post an episode recap here on The Bread Line.

