I don’t know how I missed this when it happened:

During a May 17 event in Indianapolis, Chia Pet creator Joseph Pedott personally presented President Obama with his very own Chia Obama plant. Apparently Obama hadn’t heard of the product, reportedly asking, “What’s a Chia Obama?”

Official White House photo of President Obama receiving a Chia Obama

Official White House photo of President Obama receiving a Chia Obama

You may recall the minor controversy that resulted from Walgreens’ decision to no longer sell Chia Obama products because some people might find them offensive. This did not deter me from buying one.

Sure Chia Obama is sort of kitschy, but my inner child has long wanted to own a Chia Pet. Plus I figured a Chia Obama would be an interesting addition to my collection of political memorabilia. So I ordered one via Amazon.com, and also bought a copy of Richard Wolffe’s new book, Renegade: The Making of a President, which is about Barack Obama’s presidential campaign. The seeds were planted on my Chia Obama four days ago.

I’ve been alternately reading two books lately, Wolffe’s Obama book and Mitch Albom’s Tuesdays With Morrie, which sparked a creative writing idea. Thus, tomorrow I will post the first installment of “Thursdays with Chia Obama.” On Thursday of each week, I’ll post another installment of the series, which will chronicle the life of my Chia Obama in creative ways. Sometimes I’ll write about lessons that can be learned from the Chia Obama, ala Robert Fulghum’s All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten; sometimes I’ll be a little less serious. But I hope “Thursdays with Chia Obama” will always be an enjoyable read.

