Here it is, the second installment of my writing experiment, “Thursdays with Chia Obama!” This past week Chia Obama sprouted a lot of “hair,” and it’s growing in every direction! Apparently Chia Obama is going through an Albert Einstein phase — which is better than him sporting a mullet.

If you missed last week’s edition of “Thursdays with Chia Obama,” you can find it by clicking here. Once you’ve caught up, read on! And don’t forget to let me know what you think of the story.

* * *

It is Friday afternoon and we’re preparing to leave for Kane County, where we’ll watch Chicago Cubs players Aramis Ramirez and Reed Johnson rehab with the Class A Peoria Chiefs. I’m heading for the door when I notice a fly buzzing around the kitchen. The winged annoyance lands on a window near Chia Obama, instantly reminding me of President Obama’s recent Swat Heard ‘Round the World. Channeling the president’s mad fly-swatting skills, I slowly raise my hand and strike quickly. Got the sucker on my first try. I expect to hear from PETA soon.

* * *

It is Saturday, July 4, 2009 – our nation’s 233rd birthday. After shaking the morning cobwebs from my mind, I head to the kitchen to water Chia Obama. I am surprised to see what appear to be tears coming from Chia Obama’s eyes.

I am not exaggerating. The clay pot soaks up some of the water poured into it, and sometimes drops appear on Chia Obama’s face. This is the first time they look like teardrops.

I can’t help but think the tears are appropriate, as Chia Obama’s namesake, President Obama, obviously loves his country – otherwise he wouldn’t have run for president during such a pivotal time in our nation’s history – and today is Independence Day, the day we celebrate our country’s freedoms.

It also is possible Chia Obama is crying tears of joy because we won’t have Sarah Palin to kick around for much longer. Or so it seems …

* * *

It is Wednesday evening, and rain has been falling most of the day. The precipitation helped make this the coolest July 8 in northern Illinois in 118 years. The temperature outside the house makes today feel like a May day.

Chia Obama is growing a significant head of hair – except in one small spot on the back of his head. However, the longer his hair grows, the less his bald spot shows.

Personally, I have never had a problem with thinning hair. By that, I don’t mean my hair is not thinning. I’ve had a thin head of hair for years. But I don’t have a problem with that.

Some people needlessly worry about such things. But unless you’re a hair model or something like that, why does it matter how voluminous your hair is, especially if you are a man? You should feel blessed you have hair to lose.

Every March during the past six years, I’ve gotten my head buzzed as part of a fundraiser for St. Baldrick’s Foundation, which collects money for cancer research. The annual event always serves to remind me and others that cancer patients don’t have the option of keeping their hair while undergoing chemotherapy. They’ve got worse things to worry about than thinning hair or a blossoming bald spot.

Think about them the next time you are unhappy with your hair.

* * *

Check back here at The Bread Line next Thursday for the third installment of “Thursdays with Chia Obama”!

Sporting a Don King hairstyle on July 4, Chia Obama appears to be crying. Though inanimate, Chia Obama likely cried more sincerely than when Fox News commentator Glenn Beck fake-wept and told viewers, "I just love my country, and I fear for it."

Sporting a Don King hairstyle on July 4, Chia Obama appears to be crying. Though inanimate, Chia Obama likely cried more sincerely than when Fox News commentator Glenn Beck fake-wept and told viewers, "I just love my country, and I fear for it."

