Tomorrow is Friday, which means today is time for the third installment of my writing experiment, “Thursdays with Chia Obama!” If you didn’t read the first two installments, you can find them by clicking here.

* * *

If there is one constant in life, it is change.

That is true for Chia Obama, too. My wife and I went on a four-day getaway to Minnesota last weekend and left Chia Obama in the care of my mother-in-law. On Monday we were surprised to see Chia Obama changed his hairstyle while we were gone.

Chia Obama’s hair wilted and now resembled dreadlocks. Instead of looking like Barack Obama in his afro days, Chia Obama looked more like Malia Obama. I suppose that means Chia Obama transformed into Chia Malia. (Chia Malia — that has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it?)

We hoped to revive Chia Obama with mass water transfusions, but his hair perked back up in far-too-few spots. I even moved him to the living room Tuesday to watch baseball’s All-Star Game with me, but the excitement of the 4-3 game didn’t revive him, nor did seeing his namesake throw out the ceremonial first pitch. (Of course, Barack Obama is a White Sox fan, but Chia Obama is a Cubs fan. That’s change I can believe in.)

It was clear by Wednesday that Chia Obama’s hair would not grow back, so we scraped his scalp bald and started over. I am happy to report that some of the seeds are sprouting already today.

It is disappointing that Chia Obama’s first head of hair lasted only two weeks and three days. Chia growth has an expected lifespan of four weeks. But if at first you don’t succeed, try again.

And Chia Obama won’t be staying with my mother-in-law again anytime soon.

* * *

Check back here at The Bread Line next Thursday to read about Chia Obama’s rebirth in the fourth installment of “Thursdays with Chia Obama!”

For a few days this week, Chia Obama sported dreadlocks.

For a few days this week, Chia Obama sported dreadlocks.

