I’m crazy excited, and not only because Spring Training begins later this month.

Next month I’ll finally go on my first (way overdue) trip to Spring Training in Arizona – but first, I’ll get my hair shorn for St. Baldrick’s again.This is the seventh year I’ll be participating in the event at Jeremiah Joe – every year the fundraiser for childhood cancer research has been held in Ottawa – and according to the St. Baldrick’s Web site, I apparently now qualify to be part of the “Knights of the Bald Table,” an elite group of St. Baldrick’s participants who were involved for at least seven of the event’s 10 years.

But that isn’t the best part of this year’s St. Baldrick’s event for me. This year I’m particularly excited because others from Ottawa Delivered will be joining me onstage as a team. Editor-in-chief Steve Diogo and sports reporter John Snodgrass also are taking the hair-loss plunge, and all for a good cause – to raise funds for cancer research.

By myself, the most I ever raised for a single St. Baldrick’s event was about $2,ooo. I’d love to top that amount this year — and blow it away with the help of Steve and John.

Here’s how you can help: Click here to find the Ottawa event on the St. Baldrick’s Web site. Click on a participant’s name (or a team name, like Ottawa Delivered) and donate online by pledging through that person or team, or if you prefer to send a check, there are instructions for that on the Web site, too.

The three of us are having a friendly contest to see who can raise the most money for St. Baldrick’s, but honestly, it doesn’t matter who wins. What matters is the extra funding we are able to raise for cancer research. Everyone knows somebody affected by cancer, and organizations like St. Baldrick’s aim to end that cycle.

Fortunately, there is no rule that says we can’t have some fun while we’re fundraising. I urge anyone who can to check out the event, which begins at 10 a.m. Saturday, March 13, and lasts until 2 p.m. People pack into Jeremiah Joe to show their support and catch the fever of giving for a good cause. (Yes, you can donate at the event, too.)

So please, visit the Web site and donate in the name of one of us, or someone else you know who is participating. We’ve got office bragging rights on the line, but more importantly, the Ottawa Delivered team is excited to again be lending a hand – or, in this case, a few heads of hair – toward a good cause that is important to the Ottawa community.

Now you’ll have to excuse me – I have to go buy some sunscreen to apply to the top of my head during my Spring Training trip. 
 

              * * *

To donate to St. Baldrick’s, click here

All individual donations are acknowledged on the St. Baldrick’s Web site.

This column was originally published in the Feb. 11 edition of Ottawa Delivered.

